Forum Member

Default ride along in PG?

Hello guys,

i am a FF/paramedic from europe. in september i will make a short trip to NYC, washington dc etc and i also planned to spend the saturday september 9th (ie 8AM to 8PM) with firefighters from PG county.
    i have heard lots of (positive) things about you guys, being volunteers with many calls. a friend of mine has ridden with kentland and he told me the guys were very friendly and that he was much appreciated.
    Kentland is sure a busy station, but being a paramedic i also wanted to have the opportunity to not only ride along on engines but also on ambulances or medic units (i know i know, i have read here that many of you don't like EMS ;-) ) so i was told i should try kentland 46 which seems to be a much less known station. i couldn't find any infos on them.
    also i couldn't find anywhere any detailed stats for the whole county. being just there for a day i would, of course, prefer a very busy station.

so i have a few questions for you :
    1. what station in PG runs the busiest ambulance except Laurel rescue?
    2. same question for busiest medic unit?
    3. i heard that the ambulances are often county-owned and staffed with career FFs. so do i have to ask for a ride along the station chief or an official from PG county?
    4. same question for the medic units.
    5. any one knows a busy station where i would have the opportunity to ride with engine, ambo and medic unit?
    6. i know that when riding with volunteers they are very friendly but what about when riding with career personnel? how do they appreciate observers, especially from overseas?
    7. an idea what kind of present i could offer the brothers? i was told you all love Absinthe but it's not such a good idea to import that by plane in the USA. so if you know something smaller...i also know you like to trade patches, unfortunately we don't have any.