Forum Member

Default Newb from Blacksburg, VA

Hey everyone! I've been a long term lurker (3+ years). I'm a non-active EMT-B, I volunteered for about 5 years starting in 2000 at a vollie rescue squad, and worked for a year at Richmond Ambulance. I moved away and haven't been riding since I moved, so I'm pretty out of the loop.

I have been out on my own for a bit now, trying to decide where I want to go with my life. I have a lot of pressure to be someone I'm not sure I want to be. My parents want me to be an aerospace engineer or a doctor. I went to school for a few years on and off for engineering and I liked it, I've always loved aviation. But when I got to my calculus II class, I realized I hate math and suck at it beyond calc I. So there goes engineering. Doctor? Bleh...no comment on that. Something that has always interested me is fire fighting. I've had quite a lot of exposure to firefighters over the past couple years, but it never really hit me as something I could do. Would I like to? Heck yeah! Who wouldn't?! Something that drew me away was the requirement for color vision. I am color deficient, but not nearly color blind. I can tell reds from greens for the most part except on things like aviation maps where the shades practically blend together. In other words, that stupid book with the dots and numbers kicks my butt.

So I've been afraid that I wouldn't stand a chance when it came time to do that test. Well, here I am in Blacksburg facing a fork in the road. My options are nursing or firefighting. Because I went to school for engineering, I'm starting from scratch in either path. I have about 70 credits to my name, so that's great, but in terms of relevance to either career path - maybe 15 or so credits apply.