Forum Member

Chicago, IL (home)/ Cambridge, MA (school)

Default Thoughts was a Katrina veteran

Hi, folks. My name is Brad. I'm an EMT-Intermediate originally from the Chicago area, but now living in Boston. I spent 3 months in Waveland, MS. I got there early September 05 and stayed until early December 05. While there I saw, experienced and became involved in things that I could never imagine.

When I arrived in Waveland, MS which ia 42 miles east of New Orleans I could not even imagine the destruction which I was seeing. Not a single building standing, no homes left erect, debris and the smell of death everywhere. It was entirely unreal.

Waveland, population 7000, was entirely decimated from the storm. I had friends from my summer camping experience (Rainbow Gathering) who were setting up a free kitchen and feeding people. I jumped into action and set up a first aid station. Out of a small tent I was doing boo-boos, checking sugar and BP and trying to help as best as I could.

At this point the heat was an unbearable 120 F. Our relief work was being done in a large parking lot, so the heat radiating from the blacktop was unreal.

People kept coming into my first aid tent asking where they could see a doctor. There was a mobile ER from North Carolina about a mile up the road, but they were seeing up to 300 patients a day and waiting for 12 hours in the blazing sun. People needed a place where they could see a regular family doctor for regular needs.

I jumped into action. I began to call, email, beg and plead to any family doc out there, "We need you now!" Thankfully, docs came in from around the US for a week at a time. We peaked at over 100 patients a day, but mostly were at 50-70 a day.

We had all sorts of things at the 'New Waveland Clinic'. People came for medication refills, mostly. Thankfull Pfizer donated over $70,000 of medication. They sent meds for HTN, DM, antibiotis, etc. It was exactly what the docs needed.