Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default In need of Information

I am a career firefighter in mobile county alabama and a volunteer in a small department in baldwin county. My department i work at is a Public Safety city so our police are firefighters also and I am trying to start up a volunteer fire department and was wondering if anyone had some info on the basics of starting a department. thanks

Hey another Alabama guy!

Scooby, I'm a little confused by your question so I'll make some blanket statements and you can see if they help. If I oversimplify, please forgive me.

The first question that needs to be addressed is if you're in an incorporated municipality - that means a city or town. If the answer is yes, then the absolute first step is to convince the council that you need a VFD. In Alabama, the legislative body of an incorporated municipality decides who provides fire protection for its citizens. It can form its own FD, 'contract' with an independent FD, or maybe contract with another city but it is totally their call. If you're talking about forming a vollie component to augment an existing career force, that simply takes an act of the council.