MembersZone Subscriber

Question Wedding Tradition in the FD

Hey...I haven't posted in a while...but I recently got engaged and my Fiancee wants to have a traditional FD wedding....ONLY problem is I work as a DoD firefighter so we don't have a lot of tradition in our service yet. Can anyone help me out with some of the things you do around your departments so we have some ideas. My chief and base commander are pretty willing to accomodate anything we want within reason. They had a FD wedding a while back on our base, all they did was class a's, left the service in the ladder truck, and had crossed bumper turrets and ground monitors to leave under. any other ideas?

Thanks

Forum Member

I just got married in June........ All of the Groomsmen were firefighters or retired firefighters. I thought for awhile about what to get them for their gift because I didn't want to do the typical flask or keychain......... I wanted to do something different. I ended up getting them each a Leather front for a helmet. I knew that each had their own little collection of fire memorabilia so this way they could have a new addition.........

Each front had:

Name
    Groomsman (or Best Man)
    Brian & Brandy
    June 10, 2006

All of the shields were White and had Black bacgrounds with red writing (The wedding colors were white black and red).

We gave them to the guys at the rehearsal dinner and they all huddled up plotting....... They initially didn't know that I had bought one for myself until later that night when I pulled mine out to show them.