Forum Member

Default CAFS: Use or Not Use

I was visiting another thread about Class A Foam and decided to start my own thread in hopes to receive more information about who does and who doesn't use CAFS.

As a female Firefighter I have discovered the many advantages that CAFS provides for me. I do not have the upper body strength to man-handle a charged water hose even if it has Class A concentrate added to it. The CAFS foam filled fire hose is 20 times lighter in weight (check the reports), and is 20 times more effective in extinguishing fires. I am able to be the nozzleman and not have to worry about the fatigue that I have felt using a charged water hose. I can handle the CAFS 1.75 inch fire hose with one hand. No.. I' am not a gorilla lady. In fact, I've even had enough energy left to help with demobilization and getting the truck back into service.

As a mother and homeowner, CAFS foam means more property & lives saved, as well as reduces my homeowners insurance premium. Not to mention that it reduces the amount of water that is used and wasted on an initial attack. I have read in reports that only 10% of the water applied to a fire actually extinguishes fire. Where the same report claims CAFS is 90% efficient.

Water is becoming more of a precious commodity, period. We all know that wasting water is serious and just because we may have an abundant amount of fire hydrants does not give us the excuse to abuse our water resources. Letís make the water more effective by using a CAFS system and Class A foam, and use only what we need. I enjoy my bubble bath and a drink from my nice cool glass of uncontaminated water.

[POSTED EDITED BY WEBTEAM. USER WARNED TO STICK TO TOPIC ONLY]

We can do a better job with CAFS!

Thank you.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by FireGurl06
    I was visiting another thread about Class A Foam and decided to start my own thread in hopes to receive more information about who does and who doesn't use CAFS.