Thread: No Fire Hydrant

MembersZone Subscriber

Default No Fire Hydrant

How many of you live in a rural or suburban area that does not have fire hydrants? I have a few questions.

Melissa

Forum Member

I live in an area where we have pretty good hydrant coverage but we do have a few roads that have no hydrants. I may be able to answer your question.

Matt

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by firetruckred
    How many of you live in a rural or suburban area that does not have fire hydrants? I have a few questions.

Melissa
    Fire away! (pun intended)

Kevin
    Fire Lieutenant/E.M.T.
    IAFF Local 2339
    K of C 4th Degree
    "LEATHER FOREVER"
    Member I.A.C.O.J.
    http://www.tfdfire.com/
    "Fir na tine"

Forum Member

No Hydrants here....... What is you question?

MembersZone Subscriber

To anyone: Please be patient as I am new at asking these questions openly online. I welcome opinions from other people who have experienced this or would know what to do.

Ok.....

I live in a suburban town where we are up and coming. There are some neighborhoods who don't want hydrants and/or don't have hydrants. We had a house fire not to long ago with no hydrants. I want to make sure I know what I am doing if/when it happens again. I would love an outsiders view.

My questions are....

If you have a house fire in an area with no hydrants and you have to do drafting, Do you know this before arrival?

Do you look at your map and see that there are no hydrants and call this in for help before you are there? Not enough time cause your gearing up? Who would call this in and when?

Are you suppose to arrive in the engine truck, do what you can, then set up for the tanker to come? Again manpower. We have an issue with manpower here! Only one truck leaves, usually, until further info is given.