Forum Member

Default Suggestions for getting hired with Orlando?

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping I could get some insight and tips for getting hired with OFD. I graduated standards 1 year ago, just got my EMT and have a 2 yr AA degree if that matters. I have also been serving as a voly fire fighter with my county's voly fire department for about 1 yr. I've heard OFD is super selective about who they hire but there is no where I'd like to work for more than the Orlando Fire Department. Any suggestions or guidance is greatly appreciated.

Forum Member

Default Orlando Fd

Great Chioce. Ofd Is A Very Well Run Department. I Have Many Friends Who Work AT Ofd. Good Luck. Study Hard And Do Well On The Agility Test. If You Can, Drive To AN Ofd Firehouses And Talk To Some Of The Guys There GET SOME INSIGHT ON WHAT THEY ARE LOOKING FOR. Ofd Would Be The Only Other Department That I Would Leave Tampa For. Great Department.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default OFD Hiring information

Start studying, it has come through the grapevine that we are testing at the end of October. You can check: Cityoforlado.net for the exact information, should be out by the end of the week, or early next week.

This will be a good list to do well on, we are opening 3 stations in the next 3 years, 15 positions per station. There might be more new positions at other stations.

Good Luck
    Stay Safe

Rob

Forum Member

I finish medic school in December and start fire school in january, so I was wondering whether I'd be able test for Orlando in October. Do they require that you have the fire certs before you apply, or can you get hired and they put you through an academy?

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by SouthFlaHopeful
    I finish medic school in December and start fire school in january, so I was wondering whether I'd be able test for Orlando in October. Do they require that you have the fire certs before you apply, or can you get hired and they put you through an academy?