Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Thread: AF Burnout

MembersZone Subscriber

Question AF Burnout

Hey fellas,

I'm new to this site, but I've been an Air Force Firefighter for 4 years now. I'm on my second base, done the TDY thing a few times, and now I'm kind of burned out on the Air Force. No hard feelings, I just think I'm more Firefighter than Airman. Right now I'm stationed in Anchorage, Ak. I have two years left here so I might as well get comfortable. I'm trying to focus on certifications to get a civilian job (DOD or city). I have EMT-B, HAZMAT IC, and working on my ones. I was wondering if it is more important to focus on finishing my associates in fire science or should I be working on other things to make myself more marketable. Looking forward to some advice.

In my opinion, you should work on your degree. L.F. Garland took care of most of it. With four years in AF, you should be able to count some of your PME for your management part of the degree. You should only need a few basic courses (math, humanities, social science, and written and oral communication) to finish it up.

Your ones will definitely be a plus.

Like I said, this is just my opinion.......good luck

p.s. I burnt out myself many years ago. It was just in the last several years that I started to think about retirement. So I enlisted in the AF Reserves. Now I have a total of 15 years in.
    Last edited by THEFIRENUT; 08-18-2006 at 04:08 AM.
    Just someone trying to help! (And by the way....Thanks for YOUR help!)

Aggressive does not have to equal stupid.

** "The comments made here are this person's views and possibly that of the organizations to which I am affiliated" **

Welcome aboard from a fellow n00b.