Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Forum Member

Default Any paid volunteers here?

Just as the title says, im just curious to see if there are any and what your wage is like... Im just getting started in it...

MembersZone Subscriber

Nope...no such thing as a paid volunteer. You are either paid, or not. Even if you are paid on call, that is still different than being a volunteer

MembersZone Subscriber

Our department pays us $8.00 per call. We do tend to call ourselves "volunteers", as opposed to our two "paid" firefighters who make a monthly salary and work their regular shifts at the station... we could argue the semantics of "volunteer" all day, I suppose. I freely give a lot of my time to the department every week, our payment is sporadic (I honestly don't remember the last time I got paid!) and under the table, and when we do get handed an envelope of green stuff it's good for going to a dinner with our respective sweeties perhaps... not something we count on for paying our rent or bills. When I joined, I didn't know any money was involved at all - the first time I got money I was very surprised. I still think of the money as an occasional "thank you gift" for volunteering, not as a paycheck.

But you can call me whatever you want to. And I'll call you whatever I want to.

-------;- "Aaaaa!!"
    Remember - always wear your helmet around one-eyed women with pike poles

When I was a member of a different department we were POC, but were expected to volunteer our time for drill, training meetrings, ETC..........

We were ONLY paid for the responses.
    I.A.C.O.J. Charter Member
    "Chet, get an inch and a half on that!"

"Not for fame or reward,Not for place or rank. Not lured by ambition or goaded by necessity. But in simple obedience to duty as they understood it. These men suffered,sacrificed,dared all, and died. Let us never forget our fallen friends."

MembersZone Subscriber ROOKIELZ's Avatar