Forum Member

Question Engineer Wanting To Help

Hello,
    I am not a firefighter, however I am an engineer. I am considering research options and would like to hear from you guys. My specialization is in robotics. I would like to develop a device that would be helpful to firefighters and related personnel. I am looking to improve any procedure that costs you too much time to do manually or any activity that is too dangerous. Or even if you feel something that you use is ineffective and should be improved upon or augmented. I am looking to develop a solution that will be both low cost by design and easily repairable in the field.

For example, in a letter from Vincent Dunn (former deputy chief of FDNY) to Tom RIdge he states:
    "5. The fire service needs robots for firefighting. One such robot would be used to attack fires in superheated atmospheres and in haz-mat burning incidents. Clamp a nozzle on the robot, start water and let it enter the flame and heat of an inaccessible burning structure. ... I have never seen a robot demonstrated in American fire department. The fire service needs this tool for fighting terrorism fires." - http://vincentdunn.com/ridge.html

So if you ever said "Why doesn't someone make a __________?", I may be that someone.

Thanks for your time

Permanently Removed

Bump....Thanks for the offer. The place is full of us that like to complain and need something to work or function better.

Can you fixed this website? Sometimes it wont let you start a new thread. Or have you heard of Mini-Me. Someone needs to tune-up that little weasel.

Seriously- maybe you can focus somewhere in the area of seat belts. Firefighters (including myself) dont always wear them.

Or....I got it. Hydraulic tool lines that do not leak. My Hurst tools leak all over the place. I know Halmatro has some newer type of lines out. That would be nice if someone could fix those.