MembersZone Subscriber

Default New FD funding source??

If you are fortunate and have a rural telephone or electric company serving your fire district (or even in the region) there is a potential funding source for equipment that you may not be aware of. New to me.

USDA has a program call the Rural Economic Development Loan & Grant program (REDLG). Pronounce redleg. The way it works (I'm not an expert).

- USDA provides zero-interest loans to electric and telephone utilities.
    - The utilities reloans the funds to eligible economic development project
    - USDA may also grant $ to the utilities (who add an additional 20%) to create a revolving loan fund. These $ must, as 1st use, go into community project.
    - The project repays the loans (at 0%) to the utilities
    - The utility now has $ they can loan from their new "bank" to other projects that are of value to the community.

A could of links that discuss:
    http://www.rurdev.usda.gov/rbs/busp/redl.htm

Or better link (start on pg 12)
    http://www.rurdev.usda.gov/ks/2006%2...LG,%20RBEG.pdf

For example in my area. We have a GREAT Telco, (low rates, fiber at the curb, after 8yr a VERY large dividend). Local group wants to build a childcare center. USDA REDLG loans Telco a pile of $ and GRANTS $125000. Childcare center complete and parents pay for daycare. Childcare center repays telco monthly. Telco has a sizable and growing pile of cash they MUST reloan for useful purposes. Int rate as low as 0%.

Not as good as a grant as you have to pay it back but a LOT better than a USDA loan (4.5% with a BIG pile of paperwork). And MUCH less expensive than an Essential Community Services Loan down at the local bank (6.5% and a smallish pile of paperwork). App is a simple description of the project and repayment plan/simple financials.