Forum Member

Question help - driving record

Hello all,

I've been following this forum for quite some time. I have a difficult situation, and I'm looking for a little advice.

First, I've been volunteering at the local fire department for about 3 years. That is what got me really interested in becoming a career firefighter, so much that it seems i couldnt possibly be happy doing anything else. I completed Firefighter I as well as many other county fire academy classes, I got my national EMT-Basic, and I'm almost done an associates degree in Fire Science. My only problem is that just before I turned 21, I was pulled over and booked for an underage DUI, which is a law in new jersey that suspends your license for 30 days and gives you 15 days community service for having a BAC of anything over .01. I didn't think having a beer at dinner with my family before going out was going to cause me so much trouble. In any case, I've never had points on my license, only 2 small non-point tickets before this, and the prospect of this charge hampering my dream is killing me. Anyone have any advice for me?

Thanks!

MembersZone Subscriber

As for how the charge may affect your career chances, I will let the others asnwer as I know from past readings they will give you some great advice.

In addition, this topic has been covered before so a search might yield some more advice.