Thread: hi everyone

MembersZone Subscriber

Default hi everyone

Hi guys. I have a question for everyone. I have wanted to be a fire fighter for many years now but always thought I was getting too old to start. I've just turned 28 in May. I'm also not sure if i'm too short as i'm 5'7" tall.
    I've been working with computer programming for the past ten years and just feel it isn't for me anymore. I can't see myself being in an office my whole life.
    So my question is what is the best way to get started on becoming a fire fighter. Should i look into college classes or something. I have no clue were to start or what the path to take consists of.
    Looking on the internet I did find some college classes at a junior college near my house and it looks like i would need to take the classes and then join the academy.
    I hope this is the right area of the forum to post this question. I appreciate and thank you for all your help.

MembersZone Subscriber

sorry, i think i should have posted this in the Hiring and Employment Discussion. I cant figure out how to delete this post so please disregard and i will post it again there.
    Thank you

Forum Member

Well I'm simular story, little younger. Was going to school for Software Engineering. Decided that it wasn't the career for me (at the time I had been in the vol fire department for 2 years). I am currently working on getting my EMT, then Paramedic. So far I havent taken a test yet to get onto a company, taking one this winter but I dont have a residency in any cities with a paid department yet.

I wish I could help ya out, but I'm in the same boat as you....

And two things.... Classes you can take would be EMT and Paramedic, if you want to put that time in. They are useful. Also make sure you get into shape. You can find tips on firerecruit.com aswell for interview training and job postings.