Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Getting Hired in Illinois

I am currently certified by the OSFM in Arizona through IFSAC as a Firefighter II. I will be moving to the Chicago area in January of '07. My understanding is that the Illinois OSFM does not recognize out of state certifications and I need to be hired before I can apply and challenge the state exams for Firefighter II certification in Illinois.

My question is regarding the hiring process. I am a NREMT certified Paramedic as well and the majority of job postings I have seen on firehouse.com and other places have required FFII certification by Illinois. If I can't get hired without being certified in Illinois, and I can't get certified in Illinois without being hired do I have to repeat my FFII academy in Illinois in order to get hired? Or is it an accepted practice of a department to hire an out-of-state firefighter and request I be allowed to challenge the state exam?
    Also, is anyone aware of a community college or other traing program that offer refresher type courses where I would be able to keep up on my skills and knowledge while I am testing?

Any reply would be very helpful as I am moving in 4 months.

Forum Member