Thread: Need Help!!!!

Forum Member

Default Need Help!!!!

I just graduated college with a BA in Business Admin. and now I want to pursue a career in the fire service. I am a volunteer firefighter in the St Louis area and I am going back to school in Jan. for EMT-B. After that it will be on to paramedic school. What I need help with is, what can I do in the meanwhile to make myself a better canidate when the time comes for my testing and interview? Also, does anyone know when the next Fire Academy will be held for St. Louis, St. Louis County and St. Charles County? Thank you for your time and patience!

Forum Member

Default emt class

Heard a rumor that you can get your emt on line thru forest park.

MembersZone Subscriber

Go by the county academy and talk with Betty, last I heard they were running low on the lottery and may be opening it back up somehow.
    Seems like your on the right track since very few will accept you without the P behind the EMT.

Forum Member

I agree with batt403, without the medic cert your chances are slim at best. You could have a PhD in Physics from Yale, if you don't have the medic cert from the state, you can't even get an app most places.

My advice,

Get your EMT ASAP, get a job FT or PT at Abbott, Christian or SCCAD, and apply at the county academy, and take any test you are eligible for in the mean time.

I have a BS in Fire Science from CMSU, it is worth as much as the paper it is printed on without the paramedic license. The medic cert has given me every opportunity I have had in the fire service, the degree looks nice hanging on my wall though lol.

MembersZone Subscriber

Boy, FHandz15 hit that so square it's not even funny. I beleive in education 100% and it will help out later down the road, but to get in the door you have to have the P. I've been in the county for over 4 years and everything I did before that was of no substance to the county departments.

Forum Member