Thread: Career change!

Forum Member

Default Career change!

Well I never thought this would happen, but as a long awaited dream I think its starting to happen. Ive been in college studying civil CAD/engineering, and just recently my mind has been wanting to swing me to stay with the fire dept and get all the training that is necassary. I am almost EMT certified, they are willing to send me to a fire academy, its looking really good. I think this is what I want to do for my career. I know its hard to get into a full time position but its not impossible. So I got my simple degree and decided to bag getting my civil certification and go with the EMS/Fire plan... I will just spend my time at the station more learning as much as I can. Once I start gaining experience and have some of my training certified will it be easier for me to move to a bigger dept perhaps? Right now I get paid to go on calls and for every hour im on the call and the EMT's get paid to be on a shift waiting for calls... Let me know your thoughts... If it takes me awhile to walk into a full time position then fine I dont care, but I am also wanting to know if I will have some security of income once I am a EMT....

Forum Member

Your income and job satisfaction all comes with where you are employed. - Diffrent states and jurisdictions pay diffrent and benifits vary. Me for example I'm part of a 6 man Career Staff working for a Volunteer Fire Company which has about 30 members. -

We work straight Dayworks {0600-1800} have ample time off, excellant benifits {We don't pay a dime - Fire Company Pays} Our Salary isn't all that spectacular - We average $14.00 to $15.50 an hour to start and usually top out just over $26.00 to $28.00 an hour depending on raises, budgets, and the like. We're not IAFF {which I'm not sure if that's good or bad but considering we work for a Volunteer Company I'm guessing it's good considering the perks we recieve with out having to have a contract}