Forum Member

Default Suggestions/Ideas needed: Problematic Inspection Subject

Folks: I am a paid fire inspector in a community in Montgonmery County, Pa, working under the Fire Marshal. By ordinance, we conduct bi-yearly inspections of all rental dwelling units. This is a combination Propery Maintenance/Fire Safety Inspection, following all requirements of the PMC and the IFC.

I have a "Problem Child", that being an 82 year old woman who is a pack rat. Her apartment is one of those "collier mansions" that is stuffed full of every concieveable kind of crap you can imagine. Her initial inspection was back in April. She was given 60 days to comply. A few days short of 60, the management of the complex called to say that she had not complied and gave me the phone number of her son. I contacted her son and explained the situation to him, and he agreed to TRY to help, and requested an extension. I granted a 30 day extension.

After 90 days (60 + 30) went back, still nothing done. Not a damn thing.
    -In the course of the 90 days, we (the FM and myself) received no less than 10 letters from her, requesting relief from the requirements, giving every reason under the sun, from health problems and other associated personal problems, to the hot weather.
    -She requested that I NO LONGER contact her family. No problem, her son was a big help anyways.

I wrote her a Notice of Violation, sent it via registered mail (which she signed for) giving her 30 more days to comply. Went back at the end of THAT 30 days, and still NOTHING.

I contacted our Municipal Solicitor- at her advice, we contacted the County Dept of the Aging. After a week they called back, and determined that she is not of mental deficit- therefore they could not assist. They suggested tossing the citation at her, that they have seen it before, and if confronted with the possibility of facing a Judge, she will clean house. I am skeptical.