Forum Member

Talking So is it too late?

I am an accountant, in damn good shape, and I am looking at changing my career. Here's the million dollar question: I am 50 years old...is it too late to become a paramedic? What would be the best way to approach getting into this career?

This isn't some lame pipe dream. I'm dead serious. I am not considering this for the hatred of accounting, 'cause I don't hate accounting. I'm doing it because I want to serve, and honestly believe I would be very good at it. Ok...the desk thing...I really need something way more intense and the numbers just don't do it for me any more.

So let me know what you think, and be realistic and brutal. I've developed a thick skin over the years, and I hate sugar coating. I am also always up to a challenge.

Permanently Removed

I do NOT think its too late to become a PM. Please understand that it is something you just do not walk into. You need to become an EMT first, get some field experience and then start medic school 1-3 years later.

Get the EMT cert. first, then an ambulance job. Whether you like it or not, you will need the low paying ambulance job/experience first.

Good luck.

MembersZone Subscriber

Its never too late. Just be financially prepared for the very low pay and long hours. You may be in good health but the hours take a toll on your body.

As for the age thing, no big deal. I used to work with the oldest active paramedic in the state of FL. He was a retired merchant marine, went through medic school at age 67. He is still a medic and an instructor at age 73 today.

There are several other stories similar to this one all over FL. I have had several senior citizens in my EMT classes..60 on up.

Good Luck!

Forum Member

Default Never say never