Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: PM Schedules

Default PM Schedules

How often do you mechanically PM your apparatus?

I'm looking for a mechanic checking the brakes, etc. Not the weekly/biweekly engineer's checks.

Thanks

Forum Member

Default Inspection

I recall that in New Jersey they did away with state inspection for larger trucks in the early '70s, and went over to "Self Inspection" reinforced by DMV roadside inspections. I presume that they don't stop fire apparatus for roadsides.

In Pennsylvania, we still have state inspection, and it applies to fire apparatus. The only difference is that large highway trucks are done every six months, but fire apparatus can go a year. Given the usage level of vehicles in our department, that seems adequate.

I do periodic service on the vehicles and it's done at a different time. Although I'm not licensed as an inspector, I'm familiar with the procedures and apply them at the time I'm doing servicing. Between them we catch pretty much everything, but it seems like no matter how much you look, you still get that occasional "surprise."

Stay safe out there, everyone goes home!

Well, one of the issues i'm concerned about is that we are finding some of our apparatus brakes are out of adjustment in between the annual mech pm.

In next years budget I have requested more $$ to do an additional Mech PM.

It's rough when you have a big piece of equipment with soft brakes!

Forum Member

That's an item that does need frequent attention if you have a moderate to heavy run load. If your vehicles have air brakes and do not have Automatic Slack Adjusters, someone that is familiar with adjusting air brakes needs to be under there every month or so checking them. It's a simple enough procedure, but it has to be done right. Also, that person will come back out from under the truck dirty and greasy.