Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Exclamation Right Angle Light Or Traditional Light??

I am a new firefighter, and I am shopping for a light to carry in my bunker pants pocket or clipped on my jacket. I was wondering if anyone could inform me about the advantages/ disadvantages of a right angle light compared to a traditional flashlight? I am considering the Pelican Big ED 3700 (alkaline) or the Pelican Steathlite 2400, but this is based solely on internet research. Does anyone have any suggestions? I am new to this forum and I could not find anything else on this topic, but I apologize if I am asking something that has already been answered. Any help is appreciated. Thank you in advance.

John Tomasulo

Forum Member

What you're calling a "right angle" light is meant to hang from the front of your coat, if you have the necessary attachments on the coat to hang it. This allows for hands-free operation, at least directly in front of you. Most traditional flashlights will tie up one hand or have to be carried on a sling, which can be less stable than the alternative. I like the "right angles," and we use them (although we use the Survivors rather than Pelicans, but it's just a matter of personal preference).

Forum Member

You don't know how big a can of worms you just opened,do you?
    Okay,my choices are the Pelican line of lights.Currently,I have a Little Ed light and have been stacking quarters,nickels dimes and pennies to get a Big Ed.The one local place I've found sells at a higher price that the net so I'll go with cheaper.
    Any company like Streamlight,Pelican or Survivor will serve you well.It's all like the Chevy/Ford argument.Everyone has their favorite and everyone hates a particular brand for whatever reason(s).