Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Poor driving record

Im am 23. Recieved an OWI and 2 speeding tickets at age 20 and that's the bottom line. I have a Fire associates degree and am currently enrolled in Paramedic program. I have a lot of great references including the fire dept. that I interned at for a year. My criminal record is clean. Does anyone have any experience or advice with dealing with an OWI particularly in Wisconsin? Also, is there any laws governing the operation of emergency vehicle after being convicted of an OWI. Let's say that I do an excellent job of explaining my past and how I have learned and changed from it, will a department even be able to insure me with their insurance?

Quote Originally Posted by jobdreamer
    Im am 23. Recieved an OWI and 2 speeding tickets at age 20 and that's the bottom line. I have a Fire associates degree and am currently enrolled in Paramedic program. I have a lot of great references including the fire dept. that I interned at for a year. My criminal record is clean. Does anyone have any experience or advice with dealing with an OWI particularly in Wisconsin? Also, is there any laws governing the operation of emergency vehicle after being convicted of an OWI. Let's say that I do an excellent job of explaining my past and how I have learned and changed from it, will a department even be able to insure me with their insurance?

Most departments will toss your application upon reading your back ground or when they do a record, back ground check then it would be tossed.

Too many folks out there that have a clean driving record and no OWI's, DUI's. If you don't have a restricted drivers license, that is not one that is tainted or lets you drive only to and from your work place, then most cities and or counties and departments don't need speeders or any one who can't be a good driver.
    OUTSTANDING

Make It Happen

Never forget 9-11-2001