Forum Member

Default Your "real job" resume

Hi everyone!

I have a question that is specific to volunteers.
    Do you think listing your Volunteer Fire Company affiliation is a good idea for your "civilian" resume?

I work in IT and am contemplating a new gig, my first job switch since joining the fire service (yeah I am still a probie, but pretty active in my company).

While most people would consider volunteer firefighting to be a noble undertaking, I am also aware that a prospective employer might consider it something that distracts from what they are looking for. Or worse, the image of the stereotypical gung ho yahoo might come to mind...

I tried searching the threads for a similar question and didn't see one. Thanks in advance for your input!
    Dan

Forum Member

I think it looks good on a resume. Shows you are interestetd in th ecommunity and you plan on staying around awhile.

Forum Member

Definitely, and I would also use my chief and or officers as a reference. Your fellow firefighters know the true side of you better than any other employer's you could work for, in my opinion.

I give my all to my dept though, so I would feel very compfortable in doing so.

Forum Member

I always have, proud of it.

Forum Member

Especially if you have administrative responsibilites with the FD can be related the real world job you are pursueing. It also shows the emplyer that have have a sense of dedication to what you do, volunteer or paid.

MembersZone Subscriber

Since I am a Human Resources type person and I review resumes all the time my answer is:

YES, YES, YES!

Forum Member

I've never avoided adding my time as a volunteer to my applications.In some cases,it can mean another skill set that has application to what you are applying for,especially if you are licensed as an EMT at any level.
    More often than not,I'd be asked to tell war stories,which I minimized on grounds that "We can't really tell more than what's on the news.".

Forum Member