MembersZone Subscriber

Default What Are My Chances?

I am sure a question like this has been posted a hundred times, but there are a lot of experts on here, so I am going to ask anyway.

I am currently a bombardier in the Air Force. I have 5 years in and looking to get out and be get on a fire dept sometime in fall 07 (hopefully Roch Mn!!). I will be 28 next feb (too old) and have been on a volunteer FF for 3 years. I have FF 1 and 2, Extrication and a varitey of other classes/courses. I have a bachelor degree in criminology (no relation i know) and working on my masters in Homeland Security and Emergency Mgmt. Starting in Jan i am going to get my EMT cert. Currently studying for aptitude tests and staying in shape for the PAT. Also working hardest on what i think is the most important (or so I have heard) part...the interview

I love the Air Force, but I have come to realize that fighting fires and everything associated with it is my calling. Corny I know, but this IS the way I want to go.

Any thoughts or suggestions you guys/gals may have on how you think I may do is appreciated.

Forum Member

Default Looks Good to me

b52...Looks like you have "The Stamps" (experience) to me. Just remember that Rome wasn't built in a day. It takes time and some exams under your belt. Its rare but it has been done....one test and then your hired. Myself I took alot of exams and finally made it. So hang in there and best of luck to you. I was a Naval Firefighter and made it....so can you.
    Respectfully,
    Jay Dudley, Retired Fire
    Respectfully,
    Jay Dudley
    Retired Fire
    Background Investigator
    IACOJ-Member
    Lifetime Member CSFA
    IAFF Alumni Member

MembersZone Subscriber