Forum Member

Default Anyone know about Tennessee Reciprocity?

I am currently a firefighter in Mississippi. I have Spoken with Terry Woody about this but still dont fully understand the procedure. Can anyone give me a little information on this?

MembersZone Subscriber

Some of your questions might be answered here.

Reciprocity is new to Tennessee as the state FF program has only recently been IFSAC accredited. My understanding is that during the State's transition process any firefighter with IFSAC accreditation can have his or her certifications "recognized" by the Tennessee Commission on Firefighting. In other words, you don't get actual Tennessee certification, but you don't have to redo it, either. Only certain certifications can be recognized - FFI, FFII, Instructor I, Officer I from memory, but there may be others. Something like ARFF or Wildland FF would not be granted reciprocity according to my understanding.

Firefighters are still the red-headed stepchild of the state government (as opposed to LEO and EMS), and the Tennessee Commission on Firefighting isn't the most progressive organization, either. Things seem to be improving, though.

I hope some of this was useful. Let me know if you have other questions and I'll do my best to dig up an answer.
    ullrichk
    a.k.a.
    perfesser

a ship in a harbor is safe. . . but that's not what ships are for

Forum Member

I appreciate the reply that does answer my question. I am wanting to move to he Knoxville sometime in the near future. Thanks again for your reply.

MembersZone Subscriber

One of our Lt's sits on the comission. I will see if he can shed any light on it next time I see him. I think you are correct that the IFSAC will be recognized by the state but I don't believe all of them are recognized as of right now.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by WCENG23