Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Default can they do it??

I am a volunteer firefighter and I am having problems with my "other" job, they tell me that if I answer the page I will be fired for job abondonment, can they do this?? I live in Texas. Any thoughts or knowledge on this would be helpful , you can Email me at jmlow1@verizon.net

Yes they can. Just do your job when you are supposed to be at work and in your time off from work run VFD calls.
    Steve
    EMT/Security Officer

YES, YES, YES!!!

The best thing that you can do is turn your pager off when you are at work. Some jobs do let volunteers leave, but it is up to the employer.

I live in Texas also, and there are no "right to volunteer" laws that I know of

Take care and stay safe!!!
    Just someone trying to help! (And by the way....Thanks for YOUR help!)

Aggressive does not have to equal stupid.

** "The comments made here are this person's views and possibly that of the organizations to which I am affiliated" **

MembersZone Subscriber ChiefReason's Avatar

Tell your bosses if they won't support your community efforts, you won't support their's.
    Better yet; tell them if you can't use company time to go on calls, they can't play golf on company time.
    Still, a better idea would be to either turn off your pager, do your job, go on calls on YOUR time or find a company who is willing to let you do that.
    I could leave work to attend calls. I was on SALARY.
    Good luck.
    CR
    Visit www.iacoj.com
    Remember Bradley Golden (9/25/01)
    RIP HOF Robert J. Compton(ENG6511)

MembersZone Subscriber nadeau526's Avatar

Check with your legislation because here is CT there is a bill that passed that states that you can not be fired for responding to a call that either causes you to be late and also if a serious incident is to occur they need to let us leave and respond to the call.

Forum Member