MembersZone Subscriber

Default firefighter1, firefighter2, FO1

Hi all,

My name is John Walter. I'm a vol firefighter in PA and I am pursuing a career in the fire service. I'm currently in school for my bachelors degree in fire science managment; I have about 2 more years to complete it. I've been a firefighter for about 6 years now and I've been concerned about getting my FF1, FF2, FO1, rescue core, etc. Is it bad for me to apply to a large department (say a department with their own training academy) having already acheived my FF1, 2, etc. Does it put me at a disadvantage during the hiring process having theses before I enter the academy. Over the last several years I've been very hesitant to get them because i've heard many departments frown on having these certifications before entering the academy. Is this True or is it ok for me to take these tests. My vol. department is really starting to push me to get it, and I plan on staying another year till I finish my paramedic class. So whats everones thoughts on this. I really would like to take them, but should I wait or go for it.

John Walter

Forum Member

Thumbs up

Go get your FF1&2. I don't think any departments would look down on this. It may not give you an egde in a big city process, but it certainly won't put you at any disadvantage. Every fire academy will be a little different and every department does things their own way. I would encourage you to get some academy experience with FF1&2 while you're volunteering and finishing up your degree.

MembersZone Subscriber

John,
    First and foremost continue with your education. Get it while you are young and don’t have the commitment of a family and bills. You will be glad you did.