Thread: First Interview

Forum Member

Default First Interview

Hey there. I am scheduled for my first Fire Department interview next thursday and I just wanted to say thanks for all the input on here and ask for advice.

I'd like to thank BcLepore and CaptBob for their websites. I don't think I would have a concept of how to prepare for this interview.

Secondly I need to ask advice . In accordance with CaptBob's advice , I have drawn an outline of my thoughts for the inteview based on his 30 questions. I am going to post them here for anyone to offer ther thoughts or feelings on. I really appreciate any honest criticism .

Thanks . Josh Saunders.

1. Tell us about yourself.

-I am a 24 year old aspiring firefighter from Winston-Salem.
    -I graduated from East Forsyth High School in 2000
    - I first I have a wonderful girlfriend of 7 years whom I can't wait to marry.
    - My dad was a winston-salem firefighter for 12 years. he was part of my inspiration to pursue this career.
    -I am an avid music fan and musician.
    - I enjoy jogging , basketball and cycling.
    -I am a lifelong moravian
    2. Why do you want to be a firefighter? When did you decide on this career?

I want to become a firefighter because it is the culmination of a lifelong desire to serve a greater cause than serving just my own intersts. The thought of becoming a firefighter is uplifiting and fulfilling to me in many ways most of all spiritually and emotionally.