Forum Member

Default F550 8 Lug Wheel Coming Loose

Has anybody heard of lug nuts coming loose on newer Ford F550's?

Forum Member

Does it have aluminum wheels, or stell w/ simulators? Aluminum must be checked periodically for proper tourqe.

MembersZone Subscriber

Never heard of the 550 having problems. As far as the type of wheel I don't believe that either. I have a Bronco with aluminum rims that has 217,000 miles on it and they never get checked. Never lost a lug nut yet.

Forum Member

Aluminum wheels can come loose fairly easy.....Just depends what kind of lug nut it has, Acorn or flat washer style.

Forum Member

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by SSHANK42 View Post
    Never heard of the 550 having problems. As far as the type of wheel I don't believe that either. I have a Bronco with aluminum rims that has 217,000 miles on it and they never get checked. Never lost a lug nut yet.

Consider yourself lucky, and shame on you for not checking. Im a ASE certified truck mechanic for a large fleet, and it is not uncommon to find a loose lug nut. That is why when you do a pre trip inspection, you check them, to make sure they are tight.

When you are operating a larger vehicle ie:Pumper, tanker, or ladder and it gets crashed, tell that to the DOT inspector, and see how long he laughs, and the let us know the amount of the ticket.

Forum Member

Odd.Usually a 550 has the opposite problem.Can't get the wheels OFF! Take all the lugnuts to full loose,drive around loaded and the wheel's still "glued" to the hub.I've never seen one with loose lugs unless someone forgot to tighten them. T.C.

Forum Member

I would have to agree
    The lug nuts were probably not properly tightend or they worked loose as aluminum wheels on trucks can and will do
    I have seen many cases of this over the years
    And yes I have a 1/2 ton chevy truck with many miles and have not had no wheel issues
    But I donot carry the weight a F550 does