Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Auto Fire PPE: Fire I v. Real World

Hi everyone,

I have a question regarding auto fires and PPE. I just completed Fire I, HazMat Ops, and the other stuff and I was quite recently turned in as a "fourth" at my VFD but I was riding as an observer and subsequently as a "fifth" for a few months. I started late in life - I am a lawyer by trade and 40 years old, but I wanted to be a fire fighter my entire life. The class education and instruction was excellent and I scored at the top of my class on all exams and practicals. I only say this because my question deals with "book smart" v. "real life on the street".

Last night I was at the station and we were toned for my first call as a "fourth". It was toned as an auto fire at the scene of a car accident with unknown injury. We were the first due engine (single engine response) and had 5 on board (driver and officer up front, 3 in back). Prior to boarding the rig, I started the two minute drill and then once on board I bottled up, face piece, hood, helmet and all, regulator in hand, ready to roll. Full blown PPE. I was told by a firefighter next to me (not an officer) that I could take my mask off, attach the regulator to the mask, and clip it to my harness so its ready if I need it, but that I did not need to have the face piece on, along with the hood pulled over, etc. because it would fog up and it was not 'yet' necessary. I told him "that's not how I learned it in Fire I" and he said "well do it how you learned it". I did notice that the other 2 in the back with me did not bottle up at all but had the remainder of PPE donned.

When we arrived, we found a car into a pole and tree with the occupants sitting on the ground. No fire. The car was totaled.