Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Volunteer With Questions

Hello everyone,
    I would first like to take the time to thank each and every one of you who reply to this post, it is by no means supposed to offend anyone, or disrespect anyone. I am orginally from the Atlanta, GA area, where I volunteered at 2 firehouses during my high school years. I graduated from high school, and moved to the DC area to study fire science, and become a live-in member of a firehouse. When I first arrived, I was shocked between the sheer anamosity held between the Career and Volunteer sides of the fire department. Back home, both departments were combination, comprising of career personell and volunteer personell. There were never any problems, never any bickering, etc... We all did the same job, and we all held the same levels of respect for each other, there were no problems. Furthermore, the only thing within the department that was "Volunteer Only" was a monthly meeting, to review volunteering rates. This was done to insure that the department was growing with the city. Any other matters were handled as a department, career, volunteer, it didn't matter. Our standards were the same, and both career and volunteer personell attended the same training. Long story short, if you put on a department shirt, you were expected to uphold the standards of the department. Being career or being a volunteer was never an issue. My question to everyone here is: Why is it so different in this area? Once again, this is not an outlash on any person, either career or volunteer. I am simply looking to gain a better understanding of this anamosity. Thank you guys, and hope to hear from you.
    Perry Power

MembersZone Subscriber

No one wants to touch this, because these usually turn into flame wars.

Suffice to say, no one here is going to have an answer that makes you think "oh yeah, that makes sense" and happily accept your lot.