Thread: suspenders?

Forum Member

Default suspenders?

i am a new firefighter and noticed that some guys dont wear suspenders on their turnoutgear! what are the pros and cons to wearing them and not wearing them? im trying to figure out why they dont wear them. they have givin me some reasons but i was wondering what others thougth about this!

thanks!

Forum Member

Let's see here...

Wear them, pants stay up.

Don't wear them, pants fall down.

I personally hate having to cinch the waist adjustment tabs as tight as would be necessary to keep the pants up W/O them. When your bunkers get wet, you'll appreciate why we wear suspenders more than ever.

Mostly, it just boils down to personal preference.

Kevin
    Fire Lieutenant/E.M.T.
    IAFF Local 2339
    K of C 4th Degree
    "LEATHER FOREVER"
    Member I.A.C.O.J.
    http://www.tfdfire.com/
    "Fir na tine"

Forum Member

You should wear them regardless of girth. The reason for wearing them is many manufacturers have decided that they have become an integral part of the ensemble for firefighter removal. Try a RIT drill with a dummy with suspenders and without, when its ***' and elbows and guys are grabbing anything they can, you want those pants to stay on. I personally hate them, but I wear them cause of that.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by jonnyirons2 View Post
    You should wear them regardless of girth. The reason for wearing them is many manufacturers have decided that they have become an integral part of the ensemble for firefighter removal. Try a RIT drill with a dummy with suspenders and without, when its ***' and elbows and guys are grabbing anything they can, you want those pants to stay on. I personally hate them, but I wear them cause of that.

My suspenders break constantly. There is no way in hell that they would hold up in a FF removal situation.
    Proud East Coast Traditionalist.

Forum Member

What happened to this downed man's coat?