Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Default Assisting in out of district accident...

Hey guys... was on scene at an accident directly outside of work today and started to wonder where I stood as far as helping out...

This was in E. Moline (if any of you know the town)... Fire Dept was just pulling up (two blocks away when I got on scene) and I immediately identified myself and asked if they needed any assist. They had the first pt. taken care of so I followed the person in command over to the other vehicle to check for injuries. Since the other person was good and Illini was on scene within a few minutes afterwards I headed off back into work and let them be. Not my scene and obviously not wanting to be in their way since they had it controlled.

I started to wonder how much I can do and if I should have just stayed out of it completely. I am a newly licensed EMT-B and FFII here in IL so I don't have years of experience but I do know what I need to do back home when I go out on calls. My main concern was assisting with anything since I am not tested in to my department for SOPs but I do have a state license. (if that makes sense)...

Was also curious from experience how you guys treat people who are on scene assisting when you arrive and what you expect of them. I know in the neighboring town around here I have been treated rather rudely by their people for simply attempting to keep a pt. concious and talking... but E.M. thanked me politely for offering my assistance so I didn't know if it was different depending on the department.

Don't exactly want to step on toes if you know what I mean and want to cover my ***.

Thanks!

Forum Member