Forum Member

Default Research Assistance Request

I am a graduate student conducting research on consolidated public safety departments in the United States, wherein the agency cross-trains personnel to perform law enforcement and fire suppression duties. If you know of any such agencies, would you be kind enough to post the name of the agency and the state in which it is located.

I know this is a controversial issue, but this is strictly a research project, and there is no intent to initiate a debate on the merits or disadvantages of such organizations.

Thanks

BEESEA

Forum Member

Michigan:

Kalamazoo
    Fraser
    Oak Park
    City of Grosse Pointe
    Grosse Pointe Park
    Grosse Pointe Woods
    Village of Grosse Pointe
    Grosse Pointe Shores

Plenty more, just can't think of them now. Highland Park used to be but went to separate FD and Sheriff Dept coverage.

I know you aren't looking for opinions, but I can't mention them without saying i think it's a lousy system that shortchanges proper Fire and EMS work.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by gunnyv View Post
    Michigan:

Kalamazoo
    Fraser
    Oak Park
    City of Grosse Pointe
    Grosse Pointe Park
    Grosse Pointe Woods
    Village of Grosse Pointe
    Grosse Pointe Shores

Plenty more, just can't think of them now. Highland Park used to be but went to separate FD and Sheriff Dept coverage.

I know you aren't looking for opinions, but I can't mention them without saying i think it's a lousy system that shortchanges proper Fire and EMS work.
    Thanks, Gunny, I have these and a lot more from Michigan. Seems Michigan is the public safety department capital of the nation. Probably has something to do with the fact that Grosse Pointe Shores started the first public safety department in 1911, and it spread from there.