MembersZone Subscriber

Default exhausted in ohio....

interesting start im sure, but it is mental exhaustion rather than physical. heres the story, im a 21 yr old certified in ohio as FF II, paramedic, haz-mat ops, evdt, pumps I&II, tactical als, scuba, firefighter self survival, and several other various training classes. i have been in this field for nearly 4 years, and have been working as a FT paramedic, PT firefighter/medic, and volunteer firefighter/medic for most of this time. now to the mental exhaustion segment, it is just disappointing the lack of job opportunities in ohio. I have been testing for several years to earn a FT fire job, but to no avail as of yet. it seems every test has several hundred people all gunning for one position. this is a job ive wanted my entire life yet it seems everytime i do well on a test, either there is no hiring done from that list, or im just out of reach. my main question here is pertaining to those in and around the ohio area. anyone know of any departments that are hiring, be it a township that hires as needed or a full blown testing process. any info is greatly appreciated.

MembersZone Subscriber

have you tried looking out of state? you should start looking at depts in the south like south carolina and other states. i did that and i got out of ohio.

Forum Member

I don't have any personal experience with hiring in Ohio, but I'm born and raised there and have quite a few friends and family members that are going through it now. They are all qualified like you are and having troubles finding employment. My brother in law is working multiple PT jobs and has more certs than I could count, yet he can't get over the hump into FT employment.