Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber KevinFFVFD's Avatar

Question Firefighter 1001 Mississippi/Alabama

hey everyone. i am a volunteer firefighter in mississippi and i will be going to the academy this year at the mississippi fire academy to get my 1001 Firefighter 1 and 2. now before anyone says anything, i have tried to contact many agencies and such to try and get an answer for this but i don't ever get a clear answer. will Firefighter 1 and 2 from mississippi transfer over to alabama? i may be moving to alabama in a few years and was wondering if it would transfer, or would i have to go through their academy. i may be applying to birmingham fire or hoover fire in about 3 or 4 years when my girlfriend graduates from UAB.
    also just for kicks, are there any other states that would accept mississippi training? i have had people tell me it will transfer and others tell me i would have to go through training again.
    thanks everyone. stay safe.

MembersZone Subscriber SWLAFireDawg's Avatar

Okay, I tend to act like I know more than I do, but here is what I've gathered from reading similar posts:

1. The cetification may not carry over, but the knowledge and experience does. If it does not carry over, and the state requires you to be certified, you can challenge the FF test for the new state and will hopefully have no issues with passing it.

2. The new state may not mandate that you be FF1 or FF2 certified, in which case it won't matter if it carries over. Certifying in the new state will simply be a matter of choice and/or department policy.

I'm sure I'll be corrected if I'm wrong.

By the way, you might get more applicable responses if you post this in the "volunteer" forum.

Regardless of whether there is reciprocity between the Mississippi & Alabama fire training agencies, prepare yourself for the possibility of having to sit through the training again if you are hired by a career department.