MembersZone Subscriber

Here's an editorial.

Big grant is big pain for small minds
    Letters
    Article Launched: 02/12/2007 11:38:41 AM EST

Monday, February 12
    To the editor:
    I am a firefighter/EMT for the Cheshire Volunteer Fire Department and a captain firefighter/EMT for the Savoy Volunteer Fire Department, and I have been involved in the SAFER grant from the beginning.

To start, I would like to share with you my goals when I initiated acquiring this grant. Due to the problems fire departments face with volunteerism (on call 24/7, extensive training, etc.), without any benefits except the service to the community, we have a problem recruiting new members. How do we attract new members? How do we keep the valuable members we have? Answer: SAFER grant.

On Feb. 7, you wrote an article, "Big grant is big pain for small town." I would like to thank you for your unbiased titling of this article. This is what inspired my correspondence that I am entitling, "Big grant is big pain for small minds."

I am in awe that after all the articles and time the Transcript and the Cheshire Selectmen have put into this, they still have failed to capture the truth and scope of this grant. This grant is not about billboards and coordinators' fees, it is much more than that, and it is shameful that both a reputable newspaper and the representatives of an entire town cannot inform the public and explore the opportunities that this grant holds fully before putting it to biased scrutiny.

On Feb. 8, you published an article, "Cheshire hopes dim for second firefighting grant," in which you quoted Selectmen Chairwoman Carol Fransesconi as saying, "At the end of the four years, the firemen are not going to have any visible equipment. They're not going to have a truck, they're not going to have Scott Air Paks. What they're going to have is possibly more firefighters and possible education for people wanting to study fire science in college."