Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default How to Handle Lax Attitudes on Safety

I've been a volunteer firefighter for more than 20 years, and due to many job changes, I've been a member of several fire departments. I've been on my new department coming up on two years, and I am pretty shocked about the lack of attention given to training, safety and updating/maintaining equipment. This is a department that does not run a lot of calls or get many working fires, which, in my opinion, should put a greater emphasis on training. The word in the department is that the town will not fund signficant new equipment purchases. This translates into the department being unwilling to spend any of its own funds (and they have significant funds) to buy any equipment for the members or apparatus. A case in point is that the PASS alarms (SCBAs do not have integrated PASS alarms) were removed from over 1/2 of the packs on the apparatus because the batteries went dead. I've been around long enough to know the "rules" of not coming into a new department and trying to make changes right away, but I think there are some seriously unsafe attitudes in the department. I heard one officer remark about the PASS alarm situation that if you rely on the "buddy system", the lack of a PASS alarm should not be a problem. Anyway, this is just the tip of the iceberg with this department. Training is infrequent, the trucks and equipment are not checked reqularly, and there is very little communication from the officers to the rank and file members. Any suggestions on how to proceed here, other than quitting and joining another department?

Forum Member

Wow...sorry to hear about the situation. I take it with two years on, you don't have much say?

Do you have a training officer or commitee to bring this up to?