Like Tree2Likes

Thread: New Jersey

What goin on guys? im new to the forum and have only been following for the last couple of days. I'm also a hudson country resident and like you guys, extremly impatient. would be nice if everything moved faster. Leatherneck: you said that you passed on Harrison? If you dont mind, what number on the list were you? Do you by any chanc now anything more about how its going? If anyone has any information on any other cities, please share. thanks guys. good luck

Forum Member

Leather,

The teamwork (video portion) of the test has alot to do with the job of a fireman!! The point of this portion of the test was to see if you are a team player and nice to the public, which I beleive has alot to do with the job.

I do agree that the military men are very well disciplined (although I personally know alot of hot heads with short tempers) but I also agree that non-military civilians are capable of being just as diciplined.

You also said "In my opinion the veterans should be held to much higher physical fitness standards than the rest of the group" ... there was a marine that couldn't complete the stairs portion in the Newark test center.

tonyda had some good points, without the vet points the vets on the newark list would be wayyyy on back of the line.. how many points do vets actually get?

You got a letter from Harrison and didn't accept? ... wow... Jersey City isn't gauranteed, why would you pass up on a gauranteed position? What rank are you on for JC? I'm at a very nice rank on Newark but if Harrison calls me first then I gotta do what I gotta do to secure my career, even though I love the city I live in very dearly. Good luck on JC and keep us updated!

MembersZone Subscriber

Harrison is a damn good FD (so is JCFD). I hope you don't lose in your little game of "Deal or No Deal."