Question I want to be a firefighter, Do I finish my degree?

Hey,
    Im currently in my second year of a Bachelor of Commerce degree. But I know that I am going to be a firefighter, I have two years of volunteering under my belt and im set on a career in firefighting. Should I drop the degree for now (FINISH LATER) and get a job as a career firefighter? Or should I finish my degree? I hope to one day be a fire cheif, would the degree help me as much as an extra three years of experience in the fire suppression feild? would my degree help me at all? I know having a degree helps in the hiring process. Once your in,, do the job advancements go to education or experience?

Forum Member

It's just too easy!! Sorry bro, but it's CHIEF, not cheif.. Should probably be able to spell it if you want to become, ahh forget it.. Stay in school, degrees can be helpful,depending on the department. It can also take a very long time to get a career FF job, might as well finish the degree now, and at least you always have that under your belt..

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by Iceman01 View Post
    Hey,
    Im currently in my second year of a Bachelor of Commerce degree. But I know that I am going to be a firefighter, I have two years of volunteering under my belt and im set on a career in firefighting. Should I drop the degree for now (FINISH LATER) and get a job as a career firefighter? Or should I finish my degree? I hope to one day be a fire cheif, would the degree help me as much as an extra three years of experience in the fire suppression feild? would my degree help me at all? I know having a degree helps in the hiring process. Once your in,, do the job advancements go to education or experience?
    Research research research. Look that the departments you want to get hired at. Some require it before.