Default Keeping The Morale Up

I am a volunteer EMT-B at a rural fire dept. My problem is that we recently had a meeting where some firefighter's wanted to elect a new fire chief. They thought we needed change and the young one's were determined to elect someone who they thought was just as capable as the present chief. Well, needless to say that the older officers had enough votes to keep the present chief in. Now the Chief is taking it out on all the young firefighter's and it has really split the fire dept. up. How can we overcome this obstacle that's been created and how do we keep the morale up?

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by GNURYSS View Post
    Now the Chief is taking it out on all the young firefighter's and it has really split the fire dept. up.
    Doesn't sound like he's acting like a Chief. His job is the unite and lead the department. In a lot of cases, bad moral is caused by bad leadership.
    So you call this your free country
    Tell me why it costs so much to live
    -3dd

MembersZone Subscriber

The chief is'nt doing his job. The chief needs to be worring about his people,over see the fd operations and be a real leader.He should'nt be there to make friends. Maybe you do need a new chief?

Forum Member

That Chief is allowing personal and political matters affect the operations of your F.D. Uncalled for, voyager said it the best: his job is to unite and lead.

How is he taking it out on the youngin's?
    JLS
    MFC
    51 Pride - R.I.P. Sandy
    Alarm 200644004, I won't ever forget.

Remember you only have 1*.

IACOJ

Forum Member

Default split

We had this same issue many years back and it split the department in half, it got really bad... so have fun. The Town board actually steped in and made an ordinace stating that they choose the Cheif not us.

Default How's he's taking it out on the younger firefighter's