Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Foam

Default Foam

Hi All, I am brand new to this whole online forum thing, so please take it easy on me.....I am looking for some information on foam. If I take a pumper with 500 gallons of water and install a foam system, what does the water become if I have my concentratation set at 0.5% and 1.0%. Is there a quick formula or rule of thumb?

Thanks Keith

MembersZone Subscriber NorcalMike's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by bcfdp12 View Post
    Hi All, I am brand new to this whole online forum thing, so please take it easy on me.....I am looking for some information on foam. If I take a pumper with 500 gallons of water and install a foam system, what does the water become if I have my concentratation set at 0.5% and 1.0%. Is there a quick formula or rule of thumb?

Thanks Keith
    Not really sure what you mean. The water becomes foam solutions. There is still only 500 gallons of water. Depending on aeration method you could bet more volume.
    Mike
    Fire Captain

MembersZone Subscriber

If you were running 1% then for every 99 gallons of water you would use 1 gallon of concentrate. You would use one 5 gallon pail of foam for each tank of water. Running .5% cuts the foam usage in half, i.e. 2.5 gallons of foam for one 500 gallon tank of water (corrected after posting).

The percentages for the foam mix depend on the type of foam and the application.
    Last edited by KenNFD1219; 03-06-2007 at 06:13 AM.
    -------------------
    "The most mediocre man or woman can suddenly seem dynamic, forceful, and decisive if he or she is mean enough." from "Crazy Bosses"
    -----------------------------------------------
    Genius has its limits, but stupidity is boundless.