Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Can someone please explain Goodfellow to me?

I have been reading the forums on the courses and the training blocks and all of this and personally this stuff sounds rough. i leave april 16th for lackland and then on to goodfellow thereafter. can someone tell me what i have gotton myself into..

not that i am worried or anything

cgerdes97
    Firehouse.com Guest

honestly, I would not worry about it. Lackland will PT you enough that you will be in shape for Tech School. No worries, you'll be fine, don't get scared of all the posts.

Forum Member

i am a career firefighter medic now... just needed a change and figured the air force was a good career move. i did JROTC in high school so I came in as an E-3. I just don't know what to expect and the differences between civilivan and military firefighting

cgerdes97
    Firehouse.com Guest

I have only worked military firefighting [so far] so I couldn't honestly tell you the difference, but there are a plethora of ex-military/now civ firefighters that regularly post in here that could give you accurate info. Good luck in basic and tech school.

MembersZone Subscriber puntorotary's Avatar

Goodfellow is no joke,its 3 months of intense schooling,most of it is cram type learning,meaning they give you several chapters and then you test.For the first month its all classroom,after that it gets physical..very physical..lol.
    When i started at goodfellow i weighed 187 when i got thru i was down to 172,the school is challenging but fun and well worth it.You can get thru it.

MembersZone Subscriber

Depending on the situation I guess. I am a DOD civilian firefighter and it is like most other departments. I know a few who have been military firefighters and other than the military atmosphere there seems to be little difference there also.
    Vintage Firefighter: The older I get, the braver I was.

MembersZone Subscriber