Forum Member

Default Trouble on the scene

I have a question that has probably plagued every department in the world. Regardless of your status, paid or volunteer, how do you deal with the "ego maniacs"? For example, a career F.F. who refuses to work with volunteers since he/she feels he/she is above these people. Or a volunteer working with career F.F. who feels intimidated by the way he/she is being treated. Or a volunteer working with a volunteer where one slams the other since they are not up to the others standards. I have 11 years experience in a Vol. fire organization and countless times I have witnessed these conflicts arise with some ending in physical/verbal altercations. Although, we have addressed most of these incidents we still have problems with the same individuals. I know that stress levels are elevated at cretian types of incidents and we all get short with others at times during these incidents. Whither this brings it out more or not I really cannot say, since every situation is diffrent. We have a good working relationships with our mutual aid companies and we train together. But we still have those individuals who will not listen to anything you have to say. I'am not trying to put the blame on anyone here but it always seems to be the career personel that we have the most trouble with. How do you feel about these "ego maniacs" volunteer or career and how do you deal with them when these individuals when all other methods fail?

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Trouble?

I know exactly what you are talking about. It's easier for paid departments to deal with these people because when they don't do what the chief says or follow the protocal it can (And often does) effect their next pay raise review.

But when it's a volunteer dept. it's much harder because there's really no benifit for the individual to follow the SOP's (Or even SOG's).

Our small volunteer department has had to handle that problem very diplomatically.