Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Crashes involving hybrids

Does anyone have any good resources reference to this?

We don't get a lot of these, but we're bound to and I've heard they're a different ball of wax.

Thanks

I'm an engineer at Ford and worked on the Escape Hybrid. Pretty much what I've told everyone is do NOT cut or disconnect the high voltage cable. That's a min of 420 volts to a max of 720 right there. The high voltage cable is colored bright orange so you can't miss it. For the Escape we have a battery dissconnect in the back. It's kida like the drag racing battery kill switch. A quarter turn, pull the plug and you're done.

For a leaking battery just use your standard hazmat SOG for batteries. If you take the top of ours it looks like a bunch of D cells.

Forum Member

Your local dealer should have pamphlets or access to people trained to teach the safe handling of hybrids after a wreck.Try them as the maker should know what is the best way to deal with the problems involved.
    One thing I learned about those cars after my sister got one was that even running flat out,the engines are quieter than you'd think.
    This is from an old 2000 "Firehouse"issue I do not have at hand and may have some things wrong.If anyone knows better,correct me before I get someone killed or hurt.
    Make sure someone positively turns it off and removes the key if you have one involved.That will REDUCE,not eliminate the risk of someone getting caught in the moving parts.
    Just because the key is off,doesn't mean the car cannot"come to life" on you.I am told that most models can start the motor if the key is on and motion is detected.

MembersZone Subscriber WaterbryVTfire's Avatar