Damn this post brings back some memories. No, I didn't work out at Vinnell, but just down the road at King Fahad National Guard Hospital. I worked as a medic for 2 years there.

Those who have been to Saudi can attest that it is a totally different world! I was there from 97-99 and cannot even imagine what it is now? It had the time of my life though! I would do it again in a heart beat. In fact, I fell in love with the contract employment and came home for "couple months" and met a girl.... There went that.

If you are considering contract work in a foreign country, please consider more than the pay. Like I mentioned, it is a whole different world. People can tend to get a bit lop-sided in these situations where they are making great cash, have little responsibility and are 6000 miles from home. When people ask why I left if I was having such a great time, I always say I had to get back to reality. Anyone who has lived the life understands.

Sorry for hijacking the thread.... But please, remember there is alot more to it than the money.

BTW I remember getting a WHOLE BOX of Cubans for something like $50 in Riyadh when I was there!

MembersZone Subscriber

Thumbs up Todays Life on Eskan Village