Forum Member

Default Photographer Etiquette

Hey guys!! I am a freelance photographer who would like to start photographing firefighters and policemen saving people's lives. I would like to know some do's and dont's when arriving on a scene. Ether a vehicle accident or a house fire. I certainly don't want to get in the way.
    Thanks,
    David

Forum Member

Forum Member

I would talk to the department or departments that you will be photographing. Call up the chief and tell him what you would like to do and see if you can set up a meeting where he can tell you the specifics for that dept. I sometimes take pics of calls and talked to our asst. chief and he gave me the do's and don'ts for us.
    ------------------------------------
    These opinions are mine and do not reflect the opinions of any organizations I am affiliated with.
    ------------------------------------

Forum Member

I have been into fire photography since I was about 15. I have shot pictures of fires and accidents/extrications/industrial rescues in Philadelphia, Pa. Camden NJ, New York City, St. Louis Mo, Washington DC and just about everywhere in between.

1. First and foremost- When you start making a nuisance of yourself, you will develop a reputation. "Look, there's that moron (reporter, buff, photographer, etc.) who always gets in the way." Dont let this happen to you.

2. Always keep safety in mind at all times. If you are not a firefighter, you may want to get at least a working knowledge of firefighting by tagging along with a buff who knows whats going on. Know things like avoid charged hoselines, raised ladders (falling debris, broken glass, etc) avoid collapse zones, windows where hydraulic ventilation could take place.....