Forum Member

Default A question for Volunteers. I need some guidence

I am currently a carrer firefighter. I live outside of my district in a different county. Where I live is an all vol. dept. what I'm wondering what is your opinion on a carrer firefighter becoming a volunteer? How would you feel about this? Has anyone delt with this before does it work. any advise would help. Thank you.

I volunteer in an all volunteer department. We have a few career firefighters and EMT/Paramedics who volunteer as well. My experience has been that the career guys (and ladies) bring a lot of experience and ideas to the department, and are more exposed to new technology and techniques in the fire service. I know some paid departments don't allow their employees to volunteer for various reasons, so I would suggest checking with your employer before joining the volunterr department.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by ARL2819 View Post
    I am currently a carrer firefighter. I live outside of my district in a different county. Where I live is an all vol. dept. what I'm wondering what is your opinion on a carrer firefighter becoming a volunteer? How would you feel about this? Has anyone delt with this before does it work. any advise would help. Thank you.

We have a few career guys that volunteer in my station because this is where they live. We have no problem at all , in fact it's great having "new"
    members who are already trained. Never had any of my guys upset over career guys joining. One piece of advice for you , leave your "career status"
    at the door every time when you walk into your vollie house. Not saying that you would , but never act like your better or know more than your fellow vollies just because you do it for a living , that could create a problem. Just my 2 cents. You should definately join and give back to your community.

MembersZone Subscriber