Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Best bachelors major?

I am looking to get my bachelors degree through an online school. My question is what would be the most appropriate degree to get? I am currently a Firefighter and do not see myself ever going any higher than the rank of Captain.

I currently have my AS in Fire Service Technology. The program I was looking at was from the University of Phoenix with a Bachelors in Public Administration.

Quote Originally Posted by BKDRAFT View Post
    I am looking to get my bachelors degree through an online school. My question is what would be the most appropriate degree to get? I am currently a Firefighter and do not see myself ever going any higher than the rank of Captain.

I currently have my AS in Fire Service Technology. The program I was looking at was from the University of Phoenix with a Bachelors in Public Administration.
    Make sure your online school is acreditted and recognized as a valid institution. When our department started giving an educational incentive a lot of folks signed up at the Osma College of Obscure Knowledge only to find out the diploma was barely worth the cost of the paper. Some spent several thousand dollars only to find out they wouldn't be getting the incentive bonus.

Then find the major within that school that interests you.
    Politics is like driving. To go forward select "D", to go backward select "R."

University of Phoenix is regionally accredited. Most fortune 500 companys send there employees to this school. It is currently the largest online school.

Thanks for the heads up though. I have heard of the same things happening. The horror stories of paper mills.

MembersZone Subscriber KevinFFVFD's Avatar

i just signed up with Columbia Southern University to get my BS in Fire Science and i believe they are nationally accredited. they are also the cheepest of the online schools to i think. they cost about $555.00 per class

Forum Member