+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1234 ... Last
    MembersZone Subscriber
    Loco madidus effercio in rutilus effercio.

Default Marine Opposed To War Ordered Discharged

I was going to try to put this to another thread, but it sorta begged to be an individual. This story brings up a bit of a mixed bag of thoughts. We've seen a few soldiers claims for contientious objector status that raised a huge ruckus because of their methods. The story here has a different bend on the same problem. Oddly, as a soldier myself, if things are as they have been reported, I see no problem with this case. Seems to me that he has stated his difficulty with care and attention and in an appropriate manner. Maybe?

Marine Opposed To War Ordered Discharged
    Judge Grants Conscientious-Objector Status

POSTED: 10:54 pm EDT April 3, 2007
    UPDATED: 10:55 pm EDT April 3, 2007

SAN JOSE, Calif. -- A Marine lance corporal who said he had an aversion to killing and participating in war must be released from the military as a conscientious objector, a federal judge ruled.

The Marine Corps Reserves must discharge Robert Zabala, 23, by mid-April, under the ruling.

Zabala said he was troubled during boot camp in 2003 when a fellow recruit committed suicide and a superior used profanities to belittle the recruit. Zabala said he was "abhorred by the blood lust (the superior) seemed to possess," according to a 2006 court petition for conscientious-objector status.

Another boot camp instructor showed recruits a "motivational clip" showing Iraqi corpses, explosions, gun fights and rockets set to a heavy metal song that included the lyrics, "Let the bodies hit the floor," the petition said. Zabala said he cried, while other recruits nodded their heads in time with the beat.

"The sanctity of life that formed the moral center of petitioner's life was being challenged," his attorney, Stephen Collier, wrote in a court filing.